St John Ambulance Pattern

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

If you're aged 14 to 24 and fancy an exciting new challenge, The Duke of Edinburgh's Award could be for you.

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award is all about having fun, experiences and self-development.

There are three levels of the Award you can work towards - bronze, silver, and gold. Each award is split into four categories of activities (five categories for gold). You'll need to participate in each activity for an average of an hour a week.

Not only will you gain new skills and experiences, but the Award is externally recognised by colleges, universities, and employers as a sign of commitment.

  • Volunteering: providing first aid event cover, fundraising events, helping out at your local Badger sett or Cadet unit.
  • Physical: archery, climbing, kayaking, a sport or game outside of St John Ambulance
  • Skills: first aid skills, driving skills, bicycle maintenance, Peer Education training
  • Expedition: exploring the outdoors with other Cadets or youth organisations
  • Residential: (gold Award only) five nights away with other young people.

With so many activities to get involved with, the award has something for everyone!

You can complete the Award with us if you are a Cadet or adult volunteer.

If you're completing your Award with your school or another organisation, you can still complete sections of it with us. For example, volunteering or skills.

If you're interested in doing The Duke of Edinburgh's Award, please email

St John Ambulance Pattern

Got a question? Get in touch

Feel free to call us

01534 735 611

Or you can email us

Or you can find us on social